New Digs – New Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

December 12, 2016 by Cinfuldelights

Well it’s the first Thanksgiving in the new digs and with an all electric kitchen. This is going to be a challenge, but not something I can’t overcome.

First let’s be real. It’s all about the turkey. This turkey will not be stuffed with stuffing on the inside but between the skin and the meat there will be butter, lots of herbs and more butter.Did I fail to mention that there will be butter on the outside as well? This is definitely not a meal for you if you count calories. Inside of the turkey there will be lots of herbs and shallots. I will make him (or her) beautiful because I believe that my deep fryer is still in the storage POD.

jensen-thyme

Second there is the dessert. I have baked 3 pumpkins down in order to make the pumpkin pies. Any of the extra pumpkin puree I split with Jensen. I use my split for ravioli while he eats his split plain. Out of all these pumpkins come the seeds which are one of my favorite snacks.This year I boiled and baked with both lavender and pink Himalayan salt. And then theres the apple pie. What is Thanksgiving without an apple pie?

Last but not least are the turkey’s sidekicks. Here is a list of the usual suspects: sausage stuffing (3#of sausage), bacon green beans, candied carrots, cranberry maple sauce, mashed rosemary potatoes, gravy and yams topped with marshmallows.There of course will be appetizers for football. 

I will be missing my Rachelle (insert crocodile tears). It’s the first year without them. Since she manages a Starbucks in the Stoneridge mall, you know she was there before the crazy hits the fan. I will have a total of 9 for dinner, small for me but ok. I guess I will get to work on my later that night shopping list. Watch out Target and Walmart….we’re comin at ya and hard.

Hope y’all had a great Thanksgiving!

naptime

“I’m thankful for every moment”  – Al Green

“Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out” – John Wooden

Leave a comment